Paul Wells
The Paul Wells Show podcast
John Ibbitson on Pearson and Diefenbaker's great rivalry
0:00
-44:44

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Paul Wells

John Ibbitson on Pearson and Diefenbaker's great rivalry

Live from the Ottawa launch of the autumn's big history book
8
John Ibbitson at the National Arts Centre, Monday. Photo: Curtis Perry

I like to improvise these interviews, so I had no real plan when I sat down with John Ibbitson in front of an audience at the National Arts Centre on Monday night. I’ve known Ibbitson, a writer-at-large for the Globe and Mail and, I suppose, the dean of Ottawa political writers, for something like 30 years. He may even be more of a talker than I am. I knew we would come up with something. Indeed we did. It helped that the material at hand was so rich: The Duel, Ibbitson’s rich and passionate new twin biography of two of Canadian politics’ great rivals, John Diefenbaker and Lester Pearson.

There is no easier interview than an author who comes pre-loaded with fresh anecdotes. Off we roared.

This post is for paid subscribers

Paul Wells
The Paul Wells Show podcast
Canada's leading podcast for serious, respectful interviews with leading newsmakers, thinkers and creators from Canada and around the world.